Ampang Line

The Ampang Line (formerly known as STAR LRT) is a driver-operated light rail transportation system. The Ampang Line has two lines covering Ampang eastern district to the City Centre and another line from Sentul towards the south to the National Sports Complex at Bukit Jalil.

The system started in 1998 with an operational network covering 27km. The Ampang Sri Petaling Line has 25 stations transporting passengers from the northern, north-eastern, and south-western suburbs of the Klang Valley.

The construction of the Ampang line, Phase 1, began in August 1993 and was completed in December 1996. It covers a distance of 12km comprising 14 stations operating at a daily frequency of 5 to 15 minutes interval. The Phase 1 line began commercial service in December 1996 between Ampang and Jalan Sultan Ismail. 

The construction of the Ampang Line, Phase 2, began in 1995 and has been operational since middle of 1998. It consists of 12km extension from Chan Sow Lin station in Kuala Lumpur to Sri Petaling (Bukit Jalil) and a 3km extension from Sultan Ismail to Sentul. Under Phase 2, a 15km track with 11 stations was built to serve the northern and southern areas of Kuala Lumpur to cater for the Commonwealth Village and National Sports Complex in Bukit Jalil, during the KL Commonwealth Games in 1998.

The Ampang Line station buildings are designed with unique characteristics which combines an efficiency of space with a contemporary style that’s both functional and elegant.